November 1893

1 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. The ground froze quite hard with ice 3/4″ thick. I was home all day.
A little snow today. Signs of a storm. Quite cold tonight.
2 Thur
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and sawing wood at the door. Harden commenced to plow potato ground today.
3 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. It rained some in the afternoon but Harden finished the plowing of my potato ground this afternoon. I called down to John Aheran’s.
4 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I went to Blaine this morning and took the mare to Currie’s and got shoes set. Took dinner with Alice and stopped to R B sold 8 1/3 dozen of eggs at 17 cents.
5 Sun
Some clouds and warm with a West wind. Dr. A.J. Fulton called here and took G.W. Fulton out with him to work on his house. Myself and wife took dinner at L.H. Fulton’s today. I called to Stephen Giberson’s.
6 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. A heavy frost today. Harden took the double team and went out to Blaine to work for A.J. Fulton. Joseph McDonald here to get shoe fixed.
7 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring. Cleaned up the barn floor. Harden plowed in the afternoon. Maggy went to Blaine
8 Wed
Clear and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and fixen up for winter. Len Bartley and wife called today. Harden was plowing for potatoes another year.
9 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden and Birt pulled turnips for John Aheran today. Sixteen bbls and got eight of them hauled home.
10 Fri
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Froze very hard. Me and Birt fulton (Note: Meant to write Tapley) got the last of my summer wood in today. My wife was at Harden’s all day to tend to sick Fora.
11 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. I called with my wife to Harden’s to his sick boy. Poor Fora. I was choring the rest of the day. Eli Fletcher called today.
12 Sun
Clear and cold with a SE wind. I was home the most of the day. I went up to Harden’s and fed his cattle and turned them out. He went after Dr. White for his sick boy. Richard Bell and wife and Arthur Hutchinson and wife called in.
13 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and sawing wood at the door. Mrs.Mary Gillen called in. Orin Wing called.
14 Tues
Cloudy and very Foggy with a SE wind. Myself and wife drove over to Fred Blackden’s this morning. Called to John D. Lindsey’s to see them and took dinner with Stella and got home at sunset.
15 Wed
Cloudy and very foggy this morning with a SE wind. It began to rain and rained till about 10 o’clock. The wind came round to the NW and began to snow and blow heavy. Still snowing at bedtime.

16 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. It snowed 5″ last night heavy wet snow. Snowing and blowing again tonight. Mr. Straight called in. Harden drove to Blaine with sled today.
17 Fri
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. It commenced snowing in the afternoon. It snowed some then the wind shifted round to the SE. Looks like more storm. I banked my house today.
18 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day choring. Quite soft in the forenoon but the wind shifted to the NW in the afternoon cold.
19 Sun
Some clouds with a West wind and quite cold. Froze Hard. Myself and wife went this morning at 10 o’clock to hear Elder Gray preach at our school house. Took dinner at James W. Fulton’s. Birt Tapley and wife called.
20 Mon
Mostly clear and cold with a NW wind. I thrashed out Harden’s beans today. Harden had his hog killed today. Myself and wife took dinner with Harden. Fora was very sick.

[Forrest Farrett Fulton- died of typhoid fever]

21 Tues
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring. We set in our bees today and helped to clean a bbl of beans for Harden today.
22 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Signs of a storm all the forenoon and I prepared for it as fast as possible. It commenced to snow in earnest about 3 o’clock from the SE. Snowing at bedtime.
23 Thur
Cool and cloudy and foggy this morning with a SE wind. Me and Harden went to Blaine this morning with double sled. Harden got his horses shod at Currie’s. I took dinner with Mrs. Alice Larrabee. Called at Bell’s.
24 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and fixing up my grain boxes for thrashing. James McGee and J.W. Fulton here to supper. Signs of a storm. No sledding yet. Going with wagon.
25 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day choring and caring for my stock. Cold and freezing all day and looks like snow. G.W. Fulton came tonight from Blaine.
26 Sun
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Mr. Isaac Straight and wife called in today and Fred Blackden and wife here on a short visit.
27 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day cutting wood and choring. Wife took an ill turn and we sent for Dr. Fulton. L.H. Fulton and J.W. Fulton and wife came in. Mrs. Arthur Hutchinson and daughter called.
28 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a South wind I was home all day. It commenced to rain about noon and rained very heavy from the SE. Still they are traveling in wagons.
29 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day except going up to Harden’s to see his sick boy. Signs of another storm. Stephen Giberson called in today to inquire how my wife’s health was. She was not well. Dr. Fulton here.

30 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a West wind. It snowed about 2″ of soft snow the previous night but most of it went off today. Signs of more storm soon.

So Ends the Month of November

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

