October 1893

1 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a North wind and rain all day. Commenced in the night and still raining at
bedtime. Birt Tapley and wife here this evening. J.W. Fulton called.
2 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. Me and Harden finished raking up our buckwheat today. Ready for hauling in. Three Hallett’s and one Mahan called this evening.
3 Tues
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was choring and digging potatoes all day and picking them up
myself. Got three bbls and 1/2 hauled in the cellar. J.W. Fulton called in.
4 Wed
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was digging potatoes today. Harden hauled in two loads of buckwheat. Joe Ackerson and wife called tonight and got some apples.
5 Thur
Cloudy and warm with a North wind. I was digging potatoes all day and Harden hauled in the last load of buckwheat tonight by lantern light.
6 FRi
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Cleared off in the afternoon. G.W. Fulton and wife here today. I took her home. Dot and Frank Larrabee here.
7 SAt
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. Dot and Frank Larrabee here. Me and Harden took first load of potatoes to factory this morning at 40 cents per bbl. Rain began about 12 o’clock. Rained heavy and cold.
8 Sun
Some clouds with a warm West wind. We was home all day except I took the mare and carriage and drove Dot and Frank Larrabee to John Gray’s.
9 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I went to Blaine and settled with DeLong and paid him up. Settled with J.H. Bubar and got Mod shod. Begun to rain about noon. Heavy thunder shower in the SE.
10 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. John Close, Mr. Isaac Straight and George W. Fulton here today. I was picking over some potatoes.
11 Wed
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was digging and picking up potatoes all day. I walked up to Stephen Giberson’s at noon for help.

12 Thur
Clear and warm with a SE wind. I had Stephen Giberson digging potatoes all day. Mrs. Charles Cole
and son from Tobique, V.C., N.B. here tonight.
13 Fri
Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was digging potatoes today. Mrs. Cole and son left here this morning for Tobique, V.C., N.B. So ends the day.
14 Sat
Cloudy and Cold with a SE wind. I was digging potatoes in the forenoon. It came on rain about 10 o’clock and rained very heavy all the afternoon and evening.
15 Sun
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. Fred Blackden and J.H. Webster and wife called here today and J.W. Fulton called in the evening.
16 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I drove out to J.H. Webster’s this morning with a tub of for Webster’s. (46 1/2 lbs) I called to Richard Bell’s. John Hersom for sheep.
17 Tues
Clear and cold with a West wind. I was digging potatoes all day. I had G.W. Fulton in the afternoon. We hauled in 7 bbls in the cellar. The ground froze hard.
18 Wed
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Me and G.W. Fulton was digging potatoes all day and hauled up 14 bbls to the house ready to go to the factory in the morning.
19 Thur
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I had George W. Fulton and son with me and Stephen Giberson digging potatoes all day. The ground froze hard.
20 Fri
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I had G.W. Fulton and son with me today digging potatoes and finished mine and put them in the cellar.
21 Sat
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Alice Larrabee and son here to dinner. I received a letter today from Mabel Fulton of Minnesota. Ephraim Lawrence called this evening. Harden done digging.
22 Sun
Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden and family and Mrs. John Jamison called in awhile. Richard Bell and wife was here to supper. George Hallett called.
23 Mon
Some clouds and warm with a SW wind. I moved G.W. Fulton and family.I drove down and back 3 trips. Harden brought home my year old bull today.
24 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Very foggy and rainy looking and commenced to rain about 8 o’clock and rained very heavy all the afternoon. John Hallett here all this evening.
25 Wed
Cloudy and cool and foggy with a SE wind. I was home all day choring. The wind changed in the afternoon to the NW and cleared off. Harden hauled 2 loads to the factory.
26 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. We set up our two stoves today and finished picking off my beans today and other chores.
27 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Me and G.W. Fulton helped Harden to pull his turnips on Stephen
Giberson’s in the forenoon and in the afternoon we hauled 4 loads of wood for me. Tim Meagher called for turkeys.

28 Sat
Cold with a SE rain all day. I was home all day choring. I borrowed 10 bushels of buckwheat from
James Hutchinson today. John Aheran here to buy butter. So ends the day.
29 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a West wind and some rain through the day. I was home all day. J.W. Fulton and Birt Tapley called in this evening.

30 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a West wind. I sent 14 bushels of buckwheat to the Mill today. I went to Blaine and took out 6 turkeys to Tim Meagher @ 3.30. I called to Dr. Fulton’s, to B.F. Jones and took dinner to Alfred King’s, to Larrabee’s, to Bubar’s, to York’s, to B.F. Pierce’s and to Webster’s.

31 Tues
Clear and cold with a North wind. I was home all day. Harden brought me home a grist of buckwheat of 14 bushels. I turned down my plum trees today and put my onions in the cellar. George W. Fulton went out to work for Aaron J. Fulton.

So Ends the Month of October

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

