September 1893

1 Fri
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Some signs of rain. I dug my onions today and raked up oats in the garden today. Mabel Fulton here tonight.
2 Sat
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Signs of rain. It cleared away some and we hauled 7 loads of oats for the first. Mabel Fulton left here today.
3 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. We was home all day reading and doing our chores. Some heavy showers yesterday and today. J.W. Fulton called today.
4 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. We was home all day. I commenced digging my potatoes in the garden. We took 3 boxes of honey tonight.
5 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. We was home all day. After doing my chores I raked buckwheat all the forenoon for Harden. I picked some cranberries today.
6 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. We was home all day. I helped to haul in 5 loads of oats today. I dug some potatoes and helped fix a scythe for Jim and some other chores.
7 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. Heavy frost but clouded up and commenced to rain about 3 o’clock and killed some buckwheat.

8 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. Rained heavy all the previous night and most of the forenoon. I drove out to Blaine and stopped to Bell’s.Went out to Blaine with eggs and cranberries to sell. Stopped at Dr. Fulton’s.

9 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Cloudy and cold all day with a heavy wind. I was digging my potatoes in the garden. I finished digging and put them in the cellar. We finished cutting our buckwheat today. Harden went to Blaine. Raining tonight.

10 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. We was home all day. Harden and wife drove down to Richard Bell’s this afternoon. Signs of frost.

11 Mon
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Myself and wife drove over to Fred Blackden’s this evening and stayed all night. Called to John D. Lindsey’s.
12 Tues
Clear and cold with a NW wind. We left Fred Blackden’s this morning and called to John Lindsey’s. Stopped to Maggy Fulton’s. Wife stayed there till night. Maggy brought her home.
13 Wed
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. I helped Harden today to finish mowing the peas and oats below the barn and my other chores.
14 Thur
Clear and warm with a NW wind. We drove to Richard Bell’s this morning and took dinner. Drove to
Webster’s to see Mabel. Paid Webster. I went to Blaine to J. Ramsey’s.
15 Fri
Cloudy and foggy with a SW wind. I was home all day. We had Jim and Birt Tapley to help haul in
our peas and oats. Got in one load and it came on rain and had to give it up.
16 Sat
Cool with a SE rain. Commenced in the night and rained heavy all day and is still raining at bedtime.I was home all day. Harden went to Blaine on business. John Bartley called today.
17 Sun
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. The wind came round to the NW in the afternoon and commenced
to rain and still raining at bedtime. John Bartley called.
18 Mon
Cloudy and rainy all day with the wind from the NW. We was home all day choring. John D. Lindsey and wife here to dinner. Harden went to the Fred Robinson Mill. So ends the day.

19 Tues
Cloudy and warm with a West wind. We rolled up our peas and oats ready for hauling in and mowed some. Maggy Fulton here to tea. Hildred Shaw, formerly Hildred Gray, here today.

20 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Rolled my beans and part of my corn and gathered some apples and done some of my chores. Harden was mowing oats.

21 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Heavy cold wind. We finished hauling in our peas and oats below the barn. We had Jim and Birt Tapley to help us. Old man Hawksley died today.

22 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. A heavy frost this morning. Dr. A.J. Fulton
called today. Harden went for him for ‘Forra.’ Sarah Fulton, wife of Thomas Fulton, here today.
23 Sat
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. Me and Harden went to old man Hawksley’s funeral today preached by Charles Orser. Text from 4th chapter of 2 Timothy, 6th verse “For I am now ready.”
24 Sun
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Richard Bell and wife was here to tea. James W. Fulton and some others called through the day.
25 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was raking oats and buckwheat the most of the day. We hauled in
three loads of oats from back of the barn. Twenty-four loads of oats in the barn.
26 Tues
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was helping Harden to rake oats and buckwheat in the
forenoon. He hauled the thrashers there in the afternoon.
27 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a NE wind. I was raking oats and buckwheat all day pretty much. We hauled in the last two loads of oats making 24 wagon loads in all.
28 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. I drove to Blaine this morning for the doctor for Harden’s boy.Mrs. Alice, W.W. Larrabee and daughter, Bertha and Green, here today on a visit.
29 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. All signs of rain. I commenced to dig my potatoes this afternoon.
We put the heifer I got from Harden in my pasture today.
30 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. A peddler from Fort Fairfield here today. I was digging potatoes
today. Dr. A.J. Fulton was here this evening.

So Ends the Month of September

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

