August 1893

1 Tues
Cloudy and warm with a SW wind. I was home all day. I had a lame foot. It rained most all the noon and still raining at bedtime. So ends the day.
2 Wed
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden helped me to mow my orchard today. Cleared off towards night.

3 Thur
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. I finished mowing and raked up what hay there was in the orchard.

4 Fri
Clear and warm with a South wind. I was home all day. Hauled in my hay out of the orchard today.
Alvin Giberson and Harden hauled it in for me. I was lame.
5 Sat
Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day with a lame foot. Some signs of rain. I was weeding out my onions. Jim returned the hog he borrowed.
6 Sun
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. Signs of rain. Fred Blackden and wife
and family here to tea this evening.

7 Mon
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. Very cloudy and rained some in the afternoon and still looks like rain. We had cucumbers today. We sold some honey to Mahan’s.
8 Tues
Very cloudy in the morning but cleared off in the afternoon. Harden cut down the grass below the house today. Robert F. Jones and Dr. Aaron J. Fulton called.
9 Wed
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. We hauled in two loads of hay from below the house and raked up all around the road. Got in my seventh load of hay.
10 Thur
Clear and warm with a West wind. Very warm. I was home all day hauling in hay in the forenoon.One load for me and one for Harden. My eighth load.
11 Fri
Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and hauled in one small load of hay.
I picked off near a pail of cucumbers today. Evelyn here to dinner. My ninth load of hay.
12 Sat
Very cloudy and smoky this morning. The wind from the SE. I drove to Blaine and sold my eggs at
J.H. Bubar’s. Got some medicine at Dr. A.J. Fulton’s and drove to Fred Blackden’s and got dinner
and came home.

13 Sun
Cloudy and cool with a North wind. We was home all day. I took out a box of honey this morning. Harden took Mrs. Thomas Bartley today. Quite cool tonight. So ends the day.
14 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. We was home all day. I was helping Harden awhile to put up his fence. Fred Blackden and wife and family here.

15 Tues
Started for Cloverdale, CC, N.B. at 8 o’clock this morning to Aaron Jones’. Stopped at Cyrus Kinney’s and took some dinner. Drove to Florenceville and crossed the bridge.
Cloudy and cool day with some rain. Got to Aaron H. Jones’, 50 miles, 1/4 of  6 o’clock. Wind quite cold from the NW.

16 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. I traveled and viewed the place around part of the day and had a
pleasant time getting acquainted with friends and relations.
17 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. Signs of rain.We started and viewed the place.Went around Aaron Jones farm and viewed his field of grain, 40 bushels sowing of oats, buckwheat, corn, turnips and potatoes. Took a drive down two miles of level road.
18 Fri
Mostly clear and warm with a NE wind. Left Cloverdale. Myself and wife, Fred Blackden and wife and 3 children. Went up the North Branch of the Quincie to    Windsor, to Glassville Corner and thence to Brookes and took dinner. Four miles    to Bristol.
19 Sat
Cloudy and warm with a NE wind. Found my cares all right. Fred Blackden and wife and family went home this afternoon. Dr. Aaron J. Fulton called here.
20 Sun
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. We was home all day. Robert Wakem and Rice Raimond from Wicklow, N.B., CC called today.

21 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. We was home all day. Signs of rain in the morning but commenced    to rain at noon. Joseph Parsons of Bridgewater and A.P. Kinney of Houlton called here.
22 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. We was home all day. Some rain through the day. Harden commenced plowing today.

23 Wed
Clear and warm with a South wind. Myself and wife made a visit to Mrs. Stephen Giberson’s. Mr.
Miller from East Blaine called and R. Irven called. My neice, Mrs. Margary Fitzherbert here tonight.

24 Thur
Some clouds and foggy in the morning and commenced to rain in the afternoon. Dolly Bell and son
here this afternoon. Harden commenced to mow oats today.

25 Fri
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I took Margary Fitzherbert to Blaine this morning. Harden was
mowing today over the creek. I mailed a letter to Aaron Jones of Cloverdale.
26 Sat
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. I was trimming up round my garden. Harden finished mowing the oats over the brook.
27 Sun
Clear and cool with a SE wind. We was home all day reading. There was nothing of interest to record.

28 Mon
Cloudy and foggy and rained in the forenoon. Cleared off partly in the afternoon. The sun shone out but looks like more scattered rain.

29 Tues
Warm and cloudy with a SE wind. We went down to Richard Bell’s this morning.   All signs of rain
today. We stayed till afternoon. Commenced to rain about 3 o’clock heavy wind and rain. I called on G.W. Fulton’s wife.

30 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. The cold wind blew a gale and knocked off most all my apples. I commenced to dig my onions today.
31 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. I cut my oats in the garden and dug some
onions.  Busy all day. Mabel Fulton here tonight. Signs of frost. It rained heavy this afternoon.

So Ends the Month of August

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

