July 1893

1 Sat
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day hoeing and weeding my garden. Ephraim Lawrence called this evening. Signs of rain tonight.

2 Sun
Some clouds and very warm with a NW wind. We was home all day. Richard Bell and Ephraim Lawrence called here today. Four or five young men traveled the road with fire crackers.

3 Mon
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was helping Harden this afternoon. Signs of rain tonight.
4 Tues
Heavy SE rain commenced in the night. Rained till noon today. We was home all day. Mrs. Evelyn Tapley here tonight. J.W. Fulton called.

5 Wed
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I drove out to Mars Hill Village. Took out eggs and got mare shod. Stopped to Richard Bell’s and got a pig. Signs of more rain.

6 Thur
A warm NE rain commenced in the night. It rained very heavy most all day. I was home all day horing and taking care of things.

7 Fri
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day looking after things. We had a feast of lettuce today for the first. Stephen Giberson called in this evening.

8 Sat
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. I hoed my potatoes today for the last time. Fred and Stella and John Bartley and ‘Abba’ was here today.

9 Sun
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Myself and wife, John Bartley and wife took dinner at J.W. Fulton’s today. Bartley and wife went home. Fred went home and Stella stayed here.

10 Mon
Mostly clear and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. I was weeding up my potatoes after hilling them for the last time. Some showers in the afternoon. I mowed some.

11 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I finished up my potatoes today down by the crick. Weeded out my
corn and beans. We had quite a heavy thunder and rain this afternoon.

12 Wed
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day hoeing up my potatoes and choring. I picked
some strawberries. Stephen Giberson and wife called in.

13 Thur
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. Me and wife drove down to see Maggy Fulton this morning and took
dinner, to Richard Bell’s and took tea and home.Len Bartley and wife and Robinson Longstaff and
wife called.
Fred and Stella went home tonight.

14 Fri
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was helping Harden fence today. Wife went down to Richard
Bell
‘s. Dorothy was confined today.

15 Sat
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I drove out to J. Webster’s and took my dinner. Traded some
and got some haying tools at York & Luce.

16 Sun
Quite cloudy and some heavy showers of rain through the day. We was home all day. Harden and wife
and family here to tea. Birt Tapley and wife called in.

17 Mon
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. We commenced haying today. I went out to Will Cox‘s this
afternoon for rake teeth for Harden for the horse rake.

18 Tues
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day fixing up my barn for haying.I helped
Harden to rake hay part of the day.

19 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I got in my first load of hay. John D. Lindsey and wife and girl
and old Mrs. Lewis to dinner and supper. They went home.

20 Thur
Some clouds and warm with a West wind. I was mowing and raking hay today and hauled in one load.
There was a Parsons from Bridgewater that called this evening with window fastenings.

21 Fri
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. We went to Richard Bell’s this morning to see old Mrs. Bell.
She was dead when we got there. Three loads of hay.
(Note: Old Mrs. Bell was Richard Levarah Bell’s mother, Hannah, who was born at Brighton, N.B.,
Canada, on June 5, 1819.  She was the wife of Thomas Colby Bell.)

22 Sat
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. It rained, it rained and thundered in the night and some showers
through the day. I was home all day.

23 Sun
Cool and cloudy with a North wind. Quite showery all day and raining at bedtime. Myself   and wife
went to old Mrs. Bell’s funeral today. So ends the day.

24 Mon
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I was mowing and raking hay. Myself and wife took tea at
Harden’s. Quite cool tonight. Fear of frost.

25 Tues
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Myself and wife went to Blaine today and went to Dr. A.J.
Fulton
‘s and took dinner and came home. I helped haul 4 loads of hay. Two in my barn.

26 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden hauled in hay all the forenoon. A Mr.
Brown from Washburn was here today getting signers for tinware. One load of hay  today. My sixth
load.

27 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I harnessed up this morning my mare and carriage.Myself and wife
drove over to Fred Blackden’s. Left there after tea and drove home.

28 Fri
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. I picked some berrys and worked some in
my garden. Elias McLaggen and sister called.

29 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day choring. It rained most all day and still raining at bedtime. I was picking some berrys  today.

30 Sun
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. Rain showers most all day. John Jones and wife
called. Ephraim Lawrence here to dinner. So ends the day.

31 Mon
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. We had new potatoes today for dinner. Signs of rain tonight.

So Ends the Month of July

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

