June 1893

1 Thur
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Heavy shower of rain in the forenoon. I helped Harden to plant potatoes in the afternoon.
2 Fri
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was helping Harden plant potatoes today. Two brood of chickens out now.
3 Sat
Some clouds and cool with a SE wind. I helped Harden to finish planting potatoes today and planted my onions, beans and corn.
4 Sun
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Commenced to rain about noon. Rained most of the afternoon and still raining.
5 Mon
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. We planted our cucumber seed today and my potatoes in the garden. Perry Oliver Cox here to dinner. Evelyn Tapley and Nell Mahan called.

6 Tues
Cloudy and foggy with a warm SE wind. It came on rain about noon and heavy the rest of the day and still raining at bedtime. Jacob Dewitt here all day and night.

7 Wed
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. Jake Dewitt left here this morning. Watten, the Wool Peddler, here today. Paid him up. Rained about all night heavy.

8 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I went to Blaine with Buckboard. Took 13 dozen eggs. Called to Luce’s, B.F. Pierce’s, Hussey’s, J.H. Bubar’s, Dr. A.J. Fulton’s, Nutter’s and Valey’s and Fred Hewitt’s. Took dinner at Richard Bell’s.
9 Fri
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. Richard Bell and wife came here this morning and got some buckwheat and potatoes. Went home tonight. So ends the day.

10 Sat
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. I was fencing in the forenoon. In the afternoon I was repairing bee hives.

11 Sun
Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. Signs of rain soon. L.H. Fulton and wife called in and J.W. Fulton and Mrs. Arthur Hutchinson.

12 Mon
Cloudy and warm with a NE wind. I was home all day. It rained very heavy the previous night. Harden was plowing buckwheat ground in the afternoon.

13 Tues
Some clouds and very warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden was plowing my buckwheat ground. So ends the day.
14 Wed
Some clouds and warm with a West wind. I was home all day. Me and Harden worked in my potatoes this afternoon. I hoed some in my beans and corn.

15 Thur
Some clouds and warm with a NE wind. I was home all day. Sowed 3 bushels of buckwheat today. Signs of rain. So ends the day.
16 Fri
Clear and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden harrowed in 3 bushels of buckwheat for me today. Mela Dow here to dinner today.

17 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day hoeing in my garden. Harden went out to the store today. I sent out and got 50 cents worth of sugar. Alvin Giberson here and got one bushel of oats.
18 Sun
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. We was home all day. The wind blew very cold this afternoon. Signs of frost. We kept the Sabbath at home resting, reading and praying.

19 Mon
Mostly clear and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and working in my garden. Harden finished putting in our buckwheat.

20 Tues
Some clouds and warm with a heavy NW wind. I was weeding out my potatoes and my onions. Harden went to Knoxford with his colt and carriage.

21 Wed
Clear and warm with a NE wind. We cultivated our acre of potatoes today. Our bees swarmed today. Emmons Witcome here today.
22 Thur
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I hoed the weeds out of my potatoes in the forenoon and helped Harden to fence in the afternoon.

23 Fri
Some clouds and cold with a NE wind. I helped to fence for Harden in the forenoon and Harden helped Jim plow in the afternoon. I was to work in my garden.

24 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. Me and Harden and J.W. Fulton and Stephen Giberson went out to the stores today in our wagon and team. Commenced to rain about 9 o’clock.

25 Sun
Cloudy and warm with a NE wind and some rain. We was home all day. Old Mrs. Sprague and Mrs. Savage called here today. Signs of more rain.

26 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. I worked on the road today. Paid $3.00 road tax. Took supper at Jim’s. Signs of more rain. So ends the day.

27 Tues
Some clouds and cool with a SE wind. I worked on the road all day. John McKeen and wife here tonight. Jim was here to supper.

28 Wed
Clear and cold tonight. Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was working on the road today. Finished all up. John McKeen and wife of Bridgewater left here this morning.

29 Thur
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I put the horse hoe in my potatoes for the first. Theodore Cane here today. Signs of a shower tonight.

30 Fri
Some clouds and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day. I was hoeing and weeding potatoes.

So Ends the Month of June

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 1893

  1. Donald W. Beattie says:

    What a great web site. I am the volunteer archivist for the town of Mars hill’s libary. I wonder if these photos are there or still in your private collection. Thanks. Don Beattie of Mars Hill and Winthrop, Me.

Leave a Reply

