May 1893

1 Mon
A dull smoky day. Quite cold in the morning. I was home all day. Mrs. J.W. Fulton, Mrs.  George Hallett and Mrs. McDonald here to tea.

2 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. Rained some and snowed some. W.W. Larrabee moved from here today. Fred and Jim.

3 Wed
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Me and Harden went to J. H. Webster‘s today with horses and wagon. Took out a lot of eggs. I registered the dog today. Cost $1.15.

4 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day choring. It commenced to rain at noon mixed with hail. Harden hauled some rocks today for the first. Hauled out some Buckwheat straw.

5 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. Wife was papering the house. It came on rain about noon and rained till bedtime. So ends the day.

6 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. We ‘set’ our bees today. Theodore Cane called here today. James got my ladders today to fix his house.

7 Sun
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. We was home all day. Harden and wife and family to dinner. R. Bell and wife for tea.  ‘Set’ our turkey today.

8 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a West wind. I was home all day choring and caring for my stock. I    set up my Moresarcktie Plum tree today. Harden plowed today.

9 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a West wind. Signs of rain. Harden finished plowing his potato ground today. Easter Hallett came and scrubbed one room today.

10 Wed
Clear and warm with a NW wind. Myself and wife paid Mrs. Stephen Giberson a visit this afternoon. Harden was plowing old potato ground today.

11 Thur
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I went to Jim’s this morning and got saw and hammer. Mrs. Stephen Giberson here for butter. Harden finished plowing over the brook today.

12 Fri
Clear and warm with a SE wind. We was hauling manure in the afternoon. Stephen Giberson’s house took fire. Harden plowed in the afternoon.

13 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. We was cleaning house. Harden was plowing all day up by his place. All appearance of a heavy storm.

14 Sun
Cloudy and rainy all day. It rained all the previous night. I was home all day. Signs of more rain.

15 Mon
A drizzling SE rain most all day and still looks like more at bedtime. I was home all day. Harden went out and got the mare shod.

16 Tues
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Jim  was here for hay. Harden was plowing below the barn.

17 Wed
Cold with a SE rain all day and most all the previous night with the wind from the SE. I was helping Jim 1/2 of the day with dump body. Harden plowed below the barn.

18 Thur
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day choring. Elder Rideout called today.  Mrs. Eliphalet Jones of Knoxford, CC, N.B. and Robert Jones here on a visit.

19 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. It rained most of the previous night. We got our sheep sheared today. Fred Blackden and Mr. Tarr came here for Apple Trees.

20 Sat
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. I finished picking over my potatoes in the cellar. Harden was plowing for oats.

21 Sun
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Wind came to NW in the afternoon. Heavy cold wind and very smoky. Harden and wife called.

22 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. We sowed 9 bushels of oats today for the first this season. Stephen Giberson and wife here.

23 Tues
Cloudy with a SE wind and some rain and thunder. I was home all day. We put up my hen yard. Wife was to Sewing Circle at James Giberson’s.

24 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. We harrowed in 8 bushels of peas and oats today. I was home all day. We had quite a fire in the buckwheat straw today. The stovepipe burnt out.

25 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home fixing up Buckboard. Harden harrowed in four bushels of oats. Eli Fletcher here today.

26 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Harden harrowed my potato ground and plowed my garden. Mr. Straight here today.
27 Sat
Clear and cold with a NW wind. The ground froze this morning. I went out to York & Luce and took out 22 1/2 dozen of eggs at 13 cents per dozen. Got some grass seed.

28 Sun
Cool with a SE wind. Rain from the SE in the forenoon. Wind came around cold to the NW in the afternoon. I went to meeting.

29 Mon
Cloudy and warm with a SW wind. I was cutting my seed potatoes today. Alvin Giberson was here for hay. He got two CT.

30 Tues
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Got our garden harrowed today. I was cutting seed. Frost this morning.

31 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. Some showers of rain. I got an acre of my potatoes planted today for the first and some garden beans. Looks rainy tonight.

And So Ends the Month of May

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

