April 1893

1 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. J.W. Fulton and wife and John
Bartley and wife and son was here. Raining tonight. Bartley and wife went home.

2 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Will and Alice went up to Jim’s in the
afternoon. Harden took Anna Murray and Dot to F. Blackden’s.

3 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a SW wind. Joshua Jones called here today. I finished picking over
my potatoes today. It snowed some in the afternoon.

4 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. Commenced to snow about noon. Snowed two or three
inches and then turned to rain. Still rainy at bedtime.

5 Wed
Some clouds and very cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and caring for my
stock.

6 Thur
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden and Alice went out to the stores this
morning. Harden took 10 bushels of buckwheat to the Mill for me and 6 for himself. Got it
ground and brought it home.

7 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. Signs of a storm. I was home all day. Wife was away on
a visit to McDonald’s and John Jamison’s.

8 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and caring for my stock. Very
heavy thunder and lightning tonight.  The first of Spring.

9 Sun
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Fred Blackden here to tea.
Samuel Fulton here tonight from Knoxford, CC, N.B. holding meetings.

10 Mon
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and splitting up wood.
Samuel Fulton left here this morning.

11 Tues
Clear and warm with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and splitting wood. Mrs.
John Broad was here on a visit with maple honey tonight.

12 Wed
Some clouds and warm with a NE wind. The snow was running very fast. Harden was
hauling poles today and got hurt pretty bad. Signs of a storm.

13 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I had Harden with me today splitting up my summer’s
wood. Will went up to Easton today. Rained this afternoon.

14 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a North wind. I was home all day. Mathias McDonald came here and
corked his boots and stopped to dinner. Ephraim Lawrence to dinner.

15 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. I put up my garden fence. Harden
finished splitting up my summer’s wood. Came on snow this evening.

16 Sun
Some clouds and cold with a NW snowstorm all night till 9 or 10 o’clock today. Six or
eight inches of snow. J.W. Fulton and wife and Alvin Giberson here to dinner. H.L. Fulton
went to Knoxford.

17 Mon
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden finished hauling his hay
away today. Alvin Giberson got their onions today. Will took his horse today.

18 Tues
Cloudy with a NE wind. I was home all day. Mary Gillen left for Lowell this morning. Will
Larrabee came home today from Fred’s. Snowed since 10 A.M.

19 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and caring for my stock.
G.W. Fulton’s wife here to tea. J.W. Fulton called in.

20 Thur
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Only called to Harden’s and Stephen
Giberson’s. I was caring for my stock.

21 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. It commenced to snow about
2 o’clock P.M. and snowed till bedtime or near 9 in the evening. Will came from the lines.

22 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. It was drizzling snow and rain most
all day but did not amount to much.

23 Sun
Cool with a West wind and very cloudy. Some light showers of rain through the day. I was
home all day. Ephraim Lawrence called with maple sugar and Harden called.

24 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Will and his son, Frank, went
to Fred Blackden’s this morning. Some signs of a storm.

25 Tues
Cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. Cold SE snow commenced about 9 o’clock till
one or two P.M. came round to the NW. Snowed and blowed heavy. Will came from Fred’s.

26 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Very cold. Two or three inches
of snow last night. Went off mostly today. So ends the day.

27 Thur
Some clouds and cool with a SE wind. Signs of a storm. I was helping Harden saw wood
this afternoon. Will came home tonight. Harden was hauling up cedars.

28 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Looks like another storm. Orpha
Hutchinson got home from Lowell tonight.

29 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden was to Knoxford today with
the carriage. Set up our wagon today.

30 Sun
Cold with a NW wind. I was home all day tending my stock. Some clouds in the morning
but cleared off in the afternoon.

So Ends the Month of April

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

