March 1893

March 1893

1 Wed
Cool and snowing this morning with a SE wind. Me and Harden and Alice went out to the
store today. Me and Harden took out eggs and got 20 cents per dozen.

2 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a West wind and very blustery. I was home all day. Me and
Will sawed some wood. Sold 3 lbs of butter at 18 cents per lb. Received a letter from
Aaron Jones.

3 Fri
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Will and me sawed some wood.
School closed today in this District No. 7. So ends the day. We go to bed.

4 Sat
Clear and cool with a North wind. Fred Blackden here today. Him and Will went to the
Province. I was home all day. Harden went to the Fort today. Robert Irvin was here
collecting taxes. I paid all up at $11.92.

5 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. There was a few called in today not
to stop long. So ends the day.

6 Mon
Clear and cold with a West wind. Me and Will Larrabee was sawing wood in the forenoon.
J.W. Fulton and John Hallett called.

7 Tues
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Will was bunching shingles at
G.W. Collins Mill. Frank Hallett here to get his saw set. John Hallett called in.

8 Wed
Some clouds with a SE wind. I went to Wilcox’s and got two shoes set on Mod and got the
pung shawed. Richard Bell and wife and L.H. Fulton and wife here to supper.

9 Thur
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. Me and Harden hauled two loads of cedar in the
morning. I was shoveling snow in the afternoon off the wood. Getting ready for sawing.

10 Fri
Clear and warm with a West wind. Richard Bell and son here today with his sawing
horses and sawing machine. Sawing up my wood at the door with Harden’s help.

11 Sat
Mostly clear with a SE wind but quite cool. We finished sawing up our wood today and
R. Bell went home. Dr. Berry and Smyth here today selling glasses. Fred Blackden and
wife here.

12 Sun
Cool with a SE wind all day. Some rain. I was home all day. James Murray and wife and
child, Fred Blackden and wife and three children left here for home on West Ridge.

13 Mon
Rained all the previous night from the SE and this forenoon. Rained from the NW in the
afternoon. I was 77 years old today and my potatoes and some other stuff in my cellar
covered with water. Had to put in barrels.

14 Tue
Cloudy and warm with a SE wind and quite stormy looking. I was home all day. I had a
bad cold. John Jamison called today.

15 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NE wind in the forenoon. It commenced to snow about one o’clock
and still snowing at bedtime. John Lindsey and daughter and John Louis here to dinner.
We hauled up two loads of cedar.

16 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. John Hersom and John Ramsay
called today. Mrs. Broad and Miss Broad here to tea. We hauled three loads of cedar
blocks.

17 Fri
Clear and cold with a West wind. I was home all day and Harden and Alice went to Blaine.
Harden took a hog to Jonathon Hersom. He brought home 2 bbls of flour. J.W. Fulton
called today.

18 Sat
Mostly clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. W.W. Larrabee and J.W. Fulton
went to the Fort today. Samuel Fulton of Knoxford, N.B. took supper here.

19 Sun
Mostly Clear and cold with a NE wind. I was home all day. Will Dow was here today to get
some tar. I let him have 5 dozen of eggs at 12 cents per dozen.

20 Mon
Clear and cold with a NE wind. Mabel Fulton and Grandpa Webster was here today.
Harden and Alvin Giberson sawed up my wood this afternoon. Had a young lamb today.

21 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I went out to Blaine today and got a bbl of flour of J.W.
Webster. Paid Safford $5.00. Paid Sypher $5.00, Webster $3.03 and Luce 15 cents. Heavy
cold wind.

22 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a North wind. I was home all day picking over my potatoes. I
rigged a floor to put them up higher. Harden and Will Larrabee went to Fred Blackden’s.

23 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a NE wind. I was home all day choring. Frank Hallett came here
with a cut foot. Signs of a storm.

24 Fri
Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden and wife and family and
mother made a visit to Mr. Straight‘s today. Ephraim Lawrence took dinner here.

25 Sat
Clear and cold with a North wind. I was home all day. Me and Will fixed a ‘chance’ in the
cow stable for his horse. Perry O. Cox called in. J.W. Fulton here this evening. Harden
hauled one load of blocks.

26 Sun
Some clouds and cool with a SW wind. I was home all day. My wife went out to G.W.
Fulton’s with J.W. Fulton and wife. John McPherson called. Mrs. Arthur Hutchinson called
and May Gillen.

27 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a NE wind. Signs of a storm. I was home all day. I was picking
over some of my potatoes in the cellar.

28 Tues
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden went to Blaine and took out peas
and oats to get mashed. I brought home two bbls of fertilizer and one bbl of crackers. I took
dinner at Webster’s.

29 Wed
Mostly clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden went out with the team
to haul wood for Aaron. Old man Duston here today. Got 7 bushels ground for feed

30 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. Commenced to snow about noon and still snowing at
bedtime. John Bartley and wife and boy here to tea.

31 Mar
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. John Bartley and wife and my wife
and Harden and wife and children went over to Fred Blackden’s and Richard Bell’s on a
visit today. Anna Murray here tonight.

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

