January 1893

1 Sun
Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. Myself and wife took dinner at Stephen Giberson‘s. Richard Bell and wife was here to tea. So ends New Years Day. The road glare ice.

2 Tues
Cold with a SE rain storm most all the previous night and all day till about four o’clock. The
wind changed to the NW. I was home all day.

3 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day choring and caring for the stock. It froze quite hard in the night and all day. G.W. Fulton bought socks and potatoes. G.W. Collins drove in carriage today. Ground bare in some places.

4 Thur
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden helped us saw some wood. Mrs. Stephen Giberson here. Picked over her onions. Forty below zero today.

5 Friday
Clear and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. Alice went out to the village with John Mahan. J.W. Fulton and G.W. Fulton called.

6 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. A cold, disagreeable day and very little snow in the fields. Some traveling with wagons and some with sleds. The roads glare ice. Two men stopped here today from Easton begging.

7 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day caring for the stock and keeping the house warm. J.W. Fulton called this evening. A good deal of bare ground.

8 Mon
Some clouds with a NW wind. I was home all day. I wrote a letter to Aaron Jones, Cloverdale, CC, N.B.   J.W. Fulton and L.H. Fulton called.

9 Tues
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and sawing wood and working in general. G.W. Fulton here to dinner. J.W. Fulton called.

10 Wed
Cold with a SE snowstorm all the previous night and all day today. Drifting bad. I was home all day. Jud Straight here to dinner. Alvin Giberson here for apples. Sheep grazing in fields yesterday.

11 Thurs
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day doing chores and taking care of my stock and mending shoes. J.W. Fulton here and bought some pork.

12 Fri
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and taking care of my stock. Harden went up to John Bartley‘s and brought him down here with him. The night is clear and cold.

13 Sat
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I went out to Mars Hill Village and done some trading at Luce & York Store. Took dinner at G.W. Fulton’s and called to Harden Shaw’s. Paid for turkey 75 cents. Abber Syphers called with fresh cod.

14 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day doing chores and sawing wood. Harden was here and helped me. J.W. Fulton called.

15 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a SW wind. We was home all day. Harden started to Knoxford to meet John Bartley with Anna and his children. Her father was sick. They called here.

16 Tues
Cold snow and drifting most all the previous night and all day. I was home all day choring and taking care of my stock. J.W. Fulton called.

17 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring and fixing sled box for hauling potatoes to market. Wife up to Harden’s tailoring. Fred Longstaff called.

18 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden went out to the Post Office today. I paid Brawn $4.50 in full to date. Harden got peas and oats ground. Took dinner at George W. Fulton’s.

19 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. Will and Alice went over to Fred Blackden’s. Charles Freeman and son called here today from the Baird’s Mill to Williams.

20 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. It came around very cold in the afternoon. Me and W.W. Larrabee was sawing wood. Harden went with a load of potatoes.

21 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Heavy cold wind all day. I put up a load of potatoes to go to the Fort the first of the week if all is well. Clear and cold tonight so this week is ended.

22 Sun
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden and Dot Larrabee went to Knoxford to see Mr. Bartley. John Broad and wife here to tea. (Note: John Broad’s wife, Minnie, was the daughter of Stephen and Georgie Giberson.)

23 Mon
Some clouds and cold with a SE wind. Harden took 10 bbls of Heberns to the Fort for me today for the first. Price $10.00. Me and W.W. Larrabee was sawing wood. Signs of a storm.

24 Tues
Some clouds and warm with a SW wind. I was home all day except an hour or two helping Harden to put up a load of potatoes. Jim hauled a small load of poor hay here today for W.W. Larrabee from John Aheran’s.

25 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. It commenced to snow about ten o’clock AM. Snowed hard till bed time. Harden went to Fort with a load of potatoes.

26 Thur
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind and drifting. It snowed about 6″ and signs of more snow.I was home all day choring and caring for the stock. Harden went over to Knoxford this afternoon.

27 Fri
Some snow squalls and drifting bad this morning. Me and Harden and Alice went out to York & Luce Store. Alice got a bbl of flour and some groceries. I got two gallons of oil and Alice one.

28 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day choring. Signs of a storm soon. J.W. Fulton called this evening. So ends the day.

29 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a SE light snowstorm all the previous night and all day and still snowing at bed time.

30 Mon
Mostly clear and very cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. My wife and Harden and his wife went down to see old man Bartley that was sick. J.W. Fulton called today.

31 Tues
Clear and cold with a North wind. I was home all day. Me and Will sawing up some wood at the door. Harden went up to the Fort with a load of potatoes.

And so Ends the Month of January

This entry was posted in 1893. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

