December 1892

1 Thurs
Very cloudy and cold with snow and rain all day. I was home all day choring. About three inches of snow on the ground now. Every sign of rain at present.

2 Fri
Cold snow and rain all the previous night and all day from the NW and still the same at bedtime. W.W. Larrabee went to Blaine. Mrs. John Mahan here to tea.

3 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. Signs of snow. I was home all day. Dr. A.J. Fulton called to give his mother some medicine. Mrs. George Hallett here to tea.

4 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind and snowing a little all day. I was home all day. Harden and wife went over to Fred Blackden’s. So ends the day.

5 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Down to zero all day. Little snow sometimes. I was home all day. Thomas Bartley here to dinner today. A German woman peddler here today.

6 Tues
Clear and cold with a NW wind. It clouded up before night. Some wind to the East. I helped Jim today. Made a barn door. Signs of a storm tonight.

7 Wed
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden went to Blaine with a double team but hard sledding. Bottom dragged on bare rocks. Bought stove pipe and Lowell grind stone rig.

8 Thu
Cloudy and cold with a South wind. I was home all day. We set up the little stove. Dr. A.J.Fulton called today and took dinner. I paid him 60 cents for medicine. Will and Alice up to Jim’s. He was thrashing.

9 Fri
Rained most all night and all this forenoon from the NW. The Irvin boys commenced to thrash our grain this afternoon, 72 bushels of buckwheat. Clear and nice.

10 Sat
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. We was thrashing all day today. Thrashed 16 bushels of buckwheat and 12 bushels of oats. The boys went home about 4 o’clock. We put in straw till night. It will take Monday to finish. Isaac Straight called.

11 Sun
Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Will and Alice went over to Fred Blackden’s. Harden went down to Jerry Tracy’s. G.A. Hutchinson and wife was here this evening. Jud Straight called.

12 Mon
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. We finished our grain thrashing today. 475 in all with Irvin’s machine. Fred called in and Hersom from Easton called.

13 Tue
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Irvin’s machine left here this morning for Jones’ barn by Hawksley’s. Harden hauled up 8 loads of oats and buckwheat straw today. Will to Blackden’s.

14 Wed
Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. We was putting in our straw today. We had Alvin Giberson, Will Mahan, and J.W. Fulton. We got done before night.

15 Thu
A moderate snow storm all day and is still snowing at bedtime. I helped Harden to kill beef today. Mrs. Thomas Bartley here today on a visit.
16 Fri
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. It fell about 4 inches in the night. Just enough to make good traveling that was much needed. Myself and Will was sawing wood.

17 Sat
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. A man came here this morning by the name of Sealy, selling spring beds. A potato buyer of Houlton, Barker.

18 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. W.W. Larrabee and son, Frank, left here this morning for Dexter, Maine with horse and pung.

19 Mon
Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I was home all day. We killed and dressed 17 fowls, ready for market. Nash McCormick called today. Took letter to Fort for Alice $5.00.

20 Tue
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Mrs. Stephen Giberson here today picking over her onions. Alice went to Blaine with Hutchinson’s. G. Brawn here for apples.

21 Wed
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I went to Blaine with mare and pung. Took six bushels of grain and 30 and 1/4 lbs of poultry at 8 cents per pound, peas and oats at one cent per lb. Got Mod shod at Currie’s. Took socks and mitts for Aaron’s boy.

22 Thur
Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. I was caring for the stock and keeping the house warm as possible.
23 Fri
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. It was 32 below at early morning and up to zero at noon but dropped right down again in a short time. I was home all day tending the stock and doing chores.

24 Sat
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day doing chores and tending my stock. I sold one bushel of apples, matured fruit at 50 cents.
25 Sun
Cloudy and cold with a West wind. Cold and dreary all day. Harden went out to Blaine for the Doctor for Jim’s wife. She was sick. I called up in the afternoon to see the sick.

26 Mon
Clear and cold with a NW wind. Heavy cold wind. I was home all day.

27 Tues
Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Signs of a storm. I was home all day. Alice received a letter from Will in Dexter. He says he has a good time.

28 Wed
Clear and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. G.W. Fulton here to dinner and going to the Province and called when he came back. John D. Lindsey and Fred Blackden here tonight.

29 Thur
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was hauling wood all day. Fred Blackden came with his team and John Lindsey to chop. Our own team hauled 15 loads. I think I have my years wood.

30 Fri
Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. I had Harden helping me butcher my hog today. Weighed about 250 lbs. O’Keay and G.W. Fulton here to tea.

31 Sat
Cloudy and pleasant but cool with an East wind. Signs of a storm. We had Henry Boone and wife and son and Benadie Burt, from Tobique, V.C. County, here to dinner and a number of young folks.

So Ends the Month of December and the Year 1892

This entry was posted in 1892. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

