June 1892

1    Wed    Cloudy with a South wind. I set in my onions this morning. We planted potatoes in the afternoon    till it came on heavy thunder and hail and rain. We had to quit.
2    Thu    Cloudy and warm with a SW wind. In the afternoon a heavy thunder shower. Watten here this morning and got his wool. Received $9.85. T. Longstaff here with horse.

3    Fri    Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. Some showers of rain. We finished planting the two acres of potatoes today over the brook. Uncommon wet weather for planting.
4    Sat    Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Me and Harden went to Bell’s today. I took some eggs to York & Luce, to Post Office and called to Larrabee’s, to Bell’s and got my dinner, to Pirt Blanchard’s and bought eight bushels of oats and came home.
5    Sun    Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. One shower of rain. John Mahan and wife and George Hallett called in tonight.

6    Mon    Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. Some showers of rain. We harrowed in some oats and was plowing buckwheat ground. Jim gone to serenade.

7    Tue    Clear and cold with a NW wind. We finished plowing our potatoes today, excepting my garden. Hannah Rideout called here today. Clear and cold tonight.
8    Wed    Some clouds and warm with a SW wind. We sowed six bushels of oats and three bushels of buckwheat over on the new land today and harrowed some.

9    Thu    Mostly clear and warm with a North wind. I finished planting in my garden today and Harden finished on new land. A. J. Fulton, M.D. here to tea.

10    Fri    Clear and cold with a NW wind. I planted my cucumber seed this morning. Harden and Jimmy Jones plowed buckwheat ground. I cut potatoes for Jim in the afternoon. Big frost.

11    Sat    Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. It rained in the afternoon. Jim Jones was helping J.W. Fulton part of the day. Harden’s mare foaled.
12    Sun    Some clouds and warm with a North wind. I was home all day. Stephen Giberson and J.W. Fulton in today. Some signs of rain.

13    Mon    Some clouds with a SE wind. Some rain. Myself and boy was helping Jim to get his potatoes cut and preparing the land for planting. Signs of more rain tonight.
14    Tue    Cloudy and warm with a SW wind. The greatest storm of thunder and lightening and wind that ever    occurred took place here. It took place last night. It blew down leaded fences and Hutchinson’s barn.
15    Wed    Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. Sowed the grass seed on the new land today. Helped Jim to finish planting his potatoes. E. Lawrence and E. Lawrence called. (Eliphalet and Ephraim Lawrence of Knoxford)
16    Thu    Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. W.W. Larrabee and wife and daughter on a  visit. William and Alice. Signs of a storm.

17    Fri    Cloudy and warm with a NW wind. We finished plowing our buckwheat ground today. I sent Jim Jones home this afternoon. I put up my hen yard.

18    Sat    Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. I cleaned out my cellar today. Fred A. Blackden and wife here tonight. Eb Smith here and T. Longstaff with his horse.

19    Sun    Cloudy and warm with a SW wind. Fred Blackden and wife went home this evening. Myself and wife called to Stephen Giberson’s today, to J.W. Fulton’s and came home.

20    Mon    Cloudy and very foggy with a warm SE wind. Jud Straight brought my mare home this morning. Harden was harrowing buckwheat today. T. Longstaff here today.
21    Tue    Very cloudy and foggy and quite warm. I was home all day. The rain commenced about noon and fell about two inches by measure.

22    Wed    Heavy rain storms all day from the NE quite cold. I was home all day. I sent two letters, one to Minnesota, to Mrs. E.J. Fulton, the other to Aaron Jones in Cloverdale, C.C., N.B. I think yesterday and today it rained four inches by measure.             [Aaron Jones was the brother of Martha Jones, wife of R M Fulton. Aaron Jones married Margaret Fulton, sister of R M Fulton. ]

23    Thu    Some clouds and cool with a NW wind. I went to Blaine and got the mare shod. Paid Lowell in full to date. Paid blacksmith and came home after taking my dinner at Larrabee’s.

24    Fri    Some clouds and warm with a West wind. We finished harrowing our buckwheat today. G.W. Fulton and wife to dinner. Myself and wife made a visit to Stephen Giberson’s this afternoon.

25    Sat    Quite cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. Jim Murray called today. Harden went to Blaine in the fournoon. I helped to raise his barn in the afternoon. Signs of rain all day.

26    Sun    Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Rained some small showers. Myself and wife went out to    W.W. Larrabee’s today. Took dinner to G.W. Fulton’s and took tea and come home.

27    Mon    Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. I was home all day choring and working at the wagon body.Heavy rain last night. Rained some most all day.

28    Tue    Very heavy SE rain all night and all day. G.W. Fulton’s wife brought James Murray here this morning. Mr. John Mahan here to tea. Very rainy at bedtime. Adaline here.

29    Wed    Some clouds with a SW wind. Jim Murray here tonight. Hutchinsons put up their barn. Finished the wagon today. Harden and family took our wool down.
30    Thu    Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. I was hoeing in my garden all day. G.W. Fulton and wife here. Commenced to rain this evening about eight o’clock a heavy rain.

So Ends the Month of June

This entry was posted in 1892. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

