May 1892

May 1892

1 Sun Cloudy and cool with a West wind. I was home all day. We set out our bees today. Clouded up this afternoon. Wind from the SE. Signs of a storm.

2 Mon Cloudy and cold with a North wind. Me and Harden made a drag in the fournoon and I was helping Harden in the afternoon hewing barn frame. Maggie Fulton and Alice Larrabee here.

3 Tue Cloudy and cold with a SE wind. I helped Harden in the fournoon and in the afternoon I took Alice Larrabee out home. I called at B.F. Pierce and York and Luce.

4 Wed Cold with a SE rain all day and still raining at bedtime. Commenced raining in the night.

5 Thu Clear and cold with a NW wind. A very heavy cold wind. I was home all day. Allen Delong here to dinner. Jim was here to change works with me to saw wood. Harden cut his colt. (Grandfather used the expression “to change works” which was often used to agree that “I will help you this afternoon if you can give me a hand in the morning.”)

6 Fri Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was sawing wood most all day. G.W. Fulton called here today and J.W. Fulton called. First churning today.

7 Sat Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. Me and Jimmy Jones was sawing wood all day. Maloney, the potato agent, from Houlton, called here today. Rain tonight.

8 Sun Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. I was home all day. Some rain squalls through the day. A number of young folks called in this afternoon.

9 Mon Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. I finished sawing up my wood today. Mrs. Dorothy Bell and Mrs.Fred Blackden came here this afternoon and took tea.(Dorothy (Fulton) Bell and Stella (Fulton) Blackden.)

10 Tue Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I went to Blaine and got my new potatoes. Took Stella and family to W.W. Larrabee’s. Got the mare shod and traded with Bubar and got a 1/2 ton of hay at Jamison’s and got it home.

11 Wed Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. We commenced our plowing today up by Harden’s for peas and oats. Signs of rain soon.

12 Thu Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. We was plowing today. George Carr called here today. Samuel Boone here tonight. So ends the day.

13 Fri Mostly clear and warm with a SE wind. I was picking over potatoes today. Harden and Jimmy hauled some manure. Wife made a visit to Stephen Giberson’s.

14 Sat Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. We sowed and harrowed in 7 1/2 bs. of peas and oats today. Jimmy Jones went home this afternoon. Stephen Giberson was here and got some bushels.

15 Sun Mostly clear with a SE wind. I was home all day. Jimmy came back tonight. Judson Straight to tea this evening. Signs of rain soon. Wife sick tonight.

16 Mon Cool with a South rain in the fournoon. A.J. Fulton here to tea to see boy of Harden’s and mother.

17 Tue Some clouds and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. Mr. Stephen Giberson and wife was here this afternoon. Very heavy wind blowed fences down. Commenced to plow our potato ground today.

18 Wed Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. We finished plowing our potato ground across the brook today and plowed my garden. I was to work at the hen yard.

19 Thu Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. Sowed and put in 13 bs. Of peas and oats. I was home all day.I finished my hen yard today. So ends the day.

20 Fri Cloudy and cold with a NE wind. Very heavy frost. Me and Harden went out to Blaine, to Bell’s and doctored a hog we got from J.H. Bubar. Phosphate for our potatoes and plaster from Will Wilson.

21 Sat Cloudy and cool with a NE wind. We was cutting our seed potatoes and harrowing the ground ready to plant Monday if all is well.

22 Sun Cold with a NE rain all day. I was home all day. Harden went out see Oran Wing’s wife that was sick. Looks like more rain.

23 Mon Cold with a NE rain all day. I was cutting potatoes. William Wilson, Stephen Giberson, John Aheran, Jud Straight, Anna and Helen Hutchinson called.

24 Tue Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I went down to the lines today and took dinner at Jeremiah Tracy’s and came home. Harden and Jimmy plowed this afternoon.

25 Wed Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. Jim and Harden went up to Alf Gillen‘s place and got a load of hay for F. Longstaff and a load of slabs for me.

26 Thu Some clouds and warm with a SW wind. We was planting potatoes all day. We got four bbls of of cut seed planted for the first this Spring. Mrs. Lister here to tea.

27 Fri Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Heavy wind and rained all afternoon. Me and Harden sheared our twelve sheep today. Turned our cattle off the meadow today. So ends the day.

28 Sat Cloudy and warm with a SE rain most all day. We was hauling manure most all day. Thomas Longstaff and wife was here to dinner.

29 Sun Some clouds and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. G.W. Fulton and wife, Havelock and Thomas Bartley, J.W. Fulton and L.H. Fulton all here today.

30 Mon Cool with a SE wind. I was home all day. Harden and Jim Jones was plowing on the new land for oats. Signs of more rain tonight.

31 Tue Cloudy and warm with a SE wind. We finished plowing over on the new land today and harrowed my garden. I cut my seed potatoes.

So Ends the Month of May

This entry was posted in 1892. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

