April 1892

1 Fri Clear and warm with a SW wind. I took Alice and Bertha and went on to Blaine. Paid Pierce the balance of my tax. Paid York $5.00 and brought Dot with me. (Today is Robert and Martha’s 51st Wedding Anniversary. )

[ Alice and Bertha Larrabee, daughters of Alice Fulton Larrabee]

2 Sat Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was up to Jim’s this morning helping Harden to put up a load of potatoes to take to factory. A young man by the name of Bangs, from Easton here.

3 Sun Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Emery Hawksley called here this evening. Plenty of crows around now. The ground getting bare.

4 Mon Clear and cool with a NW wind. I helped Harden to get a load of potatoes out of Jim’s cellar today. J.W. Fulton’s wife and G.W. Fulton’s wife and Mrs. W. Rideout to dinner.
(Martha had Mary, Maggie and Mrs. Rideout for company)

5 Tue Cloudy and cool with a SE wind. Very rainy looking. Commenced to rain about noon and still raining at bedtime quite moderate. Snow running off fast. Plenty of bare ground.

6 Wed Cloudy and cool with a SW wind. I was home all day. I mended Anna’s boots and put up my garden fence. Snow is going fast. Cattle is grazing in the fields. (Anna is Harden’s wife, Annie (Bartley) Fulton.

7 Thu Clear and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. Fred Blackden and wife came here today. Fred went home and left Stella here. The snow is going fast.

8 Fri Clear and cool with a NW wind. Me and Harden was hauling wood all day. I was in my 77th year.I was cutting twitches and Harden drove the team. The snow will soon be off.
(Grandfather was proud of the fact that he was able to work side-by-side with his son while approaching the age of seventy-seven–R)

9 Sat Cloudy and cool with a SW wind. Me and Harden hauled two loads of wood on the long sled.It commenced to storm about 9 o’clock. A soft snow. Jim and George here to supper.

10 Sun Cloudy and cool with a NW wind. I was home all day. G.W. Fulton’s wife and daughter and J.W. Fulton here to dinner. J.P. Jones to tea. Stella and children here.

11 Mon Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. Some heavy snow squalls through the day. Harden hauled five loads of wood on two sleds. I took Stella and Anna out to Oran Wings to see Debba. She was sick.

(Debba: Deborah (Shaw) Wing. Deborah is the daughter of James and Mary (York) Shaw. When James Shaw died, Mary married James W.Fulton and brought Deborah and three boys into the family)

12 Tue Cloudy and cold with a West wind. I was home all day half sick with a cold. The ground froze hard and freezing hard tonight. Looks like snow. So ends the day.

(No doubt Martha is reminding grandfather that the work he done Friday, with Harden, should be left to the younger men)

13 Wed Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden took Stella and her children home today. Seven day visit. Jim and George York here.

14 Thu Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day with a lame side. Harden and Jimmy Jones was sawing wood for me at the door. Emery Hawksley here.

(Sawing wood “at the door:” was an expression used to clarify the location of the labor, woodlot or home)

15 Fri Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. M.O. Mahoney, potato agent, from Houlton,here today. I signed for 10th delivery at Blaine. Jimmy Jones begun work.

16 Sat Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Mahoney, the potato agent, left here this morning to go to the river. Dr. A.J. Fulton called.

17 Sun Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day, only I called to Hutchinson’s a few minutes to see Mrs. Hutchinson. She was sick. Signs of a storm.

18 Mon Clear and cold with NW wind. I was home all day. Me and my boy sawing and cutting wood and piling. Jim Jones went up to Straight‘s for candy.
(Maple Sugar time)

19 Tue Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day to work at my summer wood. Dr. A.J. Fulton called this evening, coming from Oran Wings.

20 Wed Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Me and my boy sawing wood. J.P. Jones helped me split some. J.W. Fulton was here this morning for butter.

21 Thu Clear and warm with a SE wind. I was home all day. I was lame. I had J.P. Jones and boy sawing wood. W.W. Larrabee called today.

22 Fri Cold with a SE rain in the fournoon. I was home all day. Had a lame side. J.W. Fulton and Evelyn called in here today coming from O. Wing’s. Debba sick.

23 Sat Cold with a WE rain in the fournoon. I was home all day choring and tending my stock. J.W. Fulton here to tea. Harden went over to Straight’s and got a brace that Alf Gillen lost.

24 Sun Clear and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day attending my sheep and cattle. Ruth Jones and Anna Fulton went out to Debba Wing’s this afternoon.
(Deborah is seriously ill and the family is trying to be at her side as much as possible)

25 Mon Clear and cold with a West wind. I was home all day. George Carr was here this evening from Bridgewater. Clear and cold tonight.

26 Tue Cloudy and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Fred Blackden was here to dinner today.

27 Wed Clear and cold with a NW wind. Me and Harden went to Blaine. I called on the doctor, A.J. Fulton,to get something for my lame side.

28 Thu Cloudy and cool with a SE wind in the fournoon and in the afternoon it rained all the afternoon.Still raining at bedtime. Our cow came in this afternoon.

29 Fri Cloudy and cool with a SW wind. I was home all day. Me and Jimmy Jones hauled down my wood below the house today. Sylvanus Martin, Collin’s man, was here today and called in.

30 Sat Some clouds and cold with a NW wind. I was home all day. Harden got a load of hay from Frost today. George Carr moved Ruth Jones away.
(I am uncertain as to the relationship that George Carr had with J.P.Jones’ wife, Ruth. I do believe that grandfather was glad to see hergo.- R)

So Ends the Month of April

This entry was posted in 1892. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

